Church Assembly

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

This body, officially the National Assembly of the Church of England, was established by the Convocations in 1919; in 1970 it was superseded by the General Synod. It consisted of a House of Bishops, a House of Clergy, and a House of Laity elected by representative electors of the Diocesan Conferences. It prepared ecclesiastical measures for transmission to Parliament under powers provided by the Church of England Assembly (Powers) Act 1919 (the Enabling Act).

Subjects: Christianity.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.