Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Equivalent to Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework level 6, this is a qualification taken by students in Scotland who have achieved passes in Standard Grades at Credit level or completed a course at Intermediate level 2. Highers are required for entry into further or higher education study, and therefore their level is roughly equivalent to that of Advanced Levels (A levels) elsewhere in the United Kingdom. For the purpose of university entry, three Highers are usually taken to be the equivalent of two A levels in terms of coverage and entry points. Students will normally complete an average of five Highers over a year. See also Advanced Higher.

S. M.

Susan Meggett

Subjects: Education.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.