From the Garden to the Blessed Country

Mark S. Cladis

in Public Vision, Private Lives

Published in print May 2003 | ISBN: 9780195125542
Published online November 2003 | e-ISBN: 9780199834082 | DOI:
 From the Garden to the Blessed Country

Show Summary Details


Charts the course of the Fall from the simple contentment, invulnerability, and innocence of the Garden to the complex gratifications, vulnerability, and corruption of the City. This is a story of costly progress: the Solitaire must sacrifice itself in order to release its inner potential for development, and thereby give birth to a new creation, the social human. The Fall is cast in seven stages that are based on Rousseau's discourse, “On the Origin of Inequality.” The first four stages are considered in Ch. 3, concluding with stage four, the Second Garden, which represents Rousseau's vision of happy humans precariously balanced between solitude and community, invulnerability and vulnerability, and independence and dependence.

Keywords: community; dependence; independence; invulnerability; On the Origin of Inequality; Rousseau; sociability; solitude; state of nature; vulnerability

Chapter.  7097 words. 

Subjects: Philosophy of Religion

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.