Carnaval des analyses

Harald Krebs

in Fantasy Pieces

Published in print April 1999 | ISBN: 9780195116236
Published online May 2008 | e-ISBN: 9780199871308 | DOI:
Carnaval des analyses

Show Summary Details


This chapter analyzes movements or works by Schumann and other composers, using the terminology and concepts developed in the preceding chapters. The works are: Berlioz, Symphonie fantastique (“Un bal”); Schumann, Intermezzi op. 4; Chopin, various works; R. Schumann, “Scherzo in F minor”; Clara Schumann, Piano Trio op. 17 (2nd mvmt.); R. Schumann, Faschingsschwank aus Wien op. 26 (1st mvmt.); Brahms, Piano Sonata in F minor op. 5 (1st mvmt.); R. Schumann, String Quartet op. 41 no. 2 (2nd mvmt.); Ives, “Two Little Flowers”; R. Schumann, Symphony no. 3 op. 97 (1st mvmt.); Schoenberg, Pierrot lunaire op. 21 (“Valse de Chopin”).

Keywords: Berlioz; Chopin; Schumann; Brahms; Schoenberg

Chapter.  21061 words.  Illustrated.

Subjects: Music Theory and Analysis

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.