Tehillim (1981)

Steve Reich

in Writings on Music 1965–2000

Published in print October 2004 | ISBN: 9780195151152
Published online October 2011 | e-ISBN: 9780199850044 | DOI:
Tehillim (1981)

Show Summary Details


This chapter presents Reich's thoughts about Tehillim. The ensemble version is scored for four women's voices (one high soprano, two lyric sopranos, and one alto), piccolo, flute, oboe, english horn, two clarinets, six percussion (playing small tuned tambourines with no jingles, clapping, maracas, marimba, vibraphone, and crotales), two electric organs, two violins, viola, cello, and bass. The voices, winds, and strings are amplified in performance. In the orchestral version, there are full strings and winds with amplification for the voices only.

Keywords: Tehillim; ensemble version; orchestral version; amplification

Chapter.  1611 words.  Illustrated.

Subjects: American Music

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.