Sextet (1985)

Steve Reich

in Writings on Music 1965–2000

Published in print October 2004 | ISBN: 9780195151152
Published online October 2011 | e-ISBN: 9780199850044 | DOI:
Sextet (1985)

Show Summary Details


This chapter presents Reich's thoughts about Sextet, which was commissioned by Laura Dean Dancers and Musicians, and by the French government for the Nexus percussion ensemble. Sextet—for four percussionists and two keyboard players—is scored for three marimbas, two vibraphones, two bass drums, crotales, sticks, tam-tam, two pianos, and two synthesizers. The duration is about 28 minutes. Reich says that percussion instruments mostly produce sounds of relatively short duration. In this piece, he was interested in overcoming that limitation.

Keywords: Sextet; France; Nexus percussion ensemble; percussion; duration

Chapter.  733 words.  Illustrated.

Subjects: American Music

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.