Three Movements (1986)

Steve Reich

in Writings on Music 1965–2000

Published in print October 2004 | ISBN: 9780195151152
Published online October 2011 | e-ISBN: 9780199850044 | DOI:
                   Three Movements (1986)

Show Summary Details


This chapter presents Reich's thoughts about Three Movements. Three Movements for orchestra was commissioned by the St. Louis Symphony. It was begun late in the summer of 1985 and completed the following March. It is scored for a normal orchestra, with triple winds, and is approximately 16 minutes long. The arrangement of the orchestra on stage is somewhat unusual and follows the layout of the orchestra for Reich's previous work with orchestra, The Desert Music. The purpose of this is to clarify the counterpoint between the two equal groups of strings, which are divided right and left, somewhat as one finds in Bartók's Music for Strings, Percussion, and Celeste.

Keywords: Three Movements; orchestra; The Desert Music; layout

Chapter.  517 words. 

Subjects: American Music

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.