The Four Sections (1987)

Steve Reich

in Writings on Music 1965–2000

Published in print October 2004 | ISBN: 9780195151152
Published online October 2011 | e-ISBN: 9780199850044 | DOI:
The Four Sections (1987)

More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • American Music


Show Summary Details


This chapter presents Reich's thoughts about The Four Sections, which as commissioned by the San Francisco Symphony in honor of its seventy-fifth Anniversary. The title refers to the four sections of the orchestra; strings, woodwinds, brass, and percussion. It also refers to the four movements of the piece; slow for strings (with woodwinds and brass), slow for percussion, moderate for woodwinds and brass (with strings), and fast for the full orchestra. And it also refers to the four harmonic sections into which each of the movements is divided.

Keywords: The Four Sections; orchestra; San Francisco Symphony

Chapter.  575 words. 

Subjects: American Music

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.