Aaron Copland (1990)

Steve Reich

in Writings on Music 1965–2000

Published in print October 2004 | ISBN: 9780195151152
Published online October 2011 | e-ISBN: 9780199850044 | DOI:
Aaron Copland (1990)

Show Summary Details


This chapter presents Reich's thoughts about Aaron Copland. He talks about listening to recordings of Copland's ballets as a teenager and the romance of America they conjured up. Later, at Cornell, he heard his Clarinet Concerto written for jazz clarinetist Benny Goodman, and the Piano Quartet that began his encounter with 12-tone music.

Keywords: Clarinet Concerto; Aaron Copland; Piano Quartet; ballets

Chapter.  163 words. 

Subjects: American Music

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.