Jonathan M. Schoenwald

in A Time for Choosing

Published in print August 2002 | ISBN: 9780195157260
Published online October 2011 | e-ISBN: 9780199849390 | DOI:

More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • History of the Americas


Show Summary Details


In late 1961, Major General Edwin A. Walker represented not just the apparent capitulation of American liberalism to the enemy but also the birth of a new kind of far-right conservatism, which was called “extremism”. Shortly after the end of World War II, American conservatives launched a crusade to reverse the liberal political and social order prevalent since Franklin D. Roosevelt's inauguration in 1933. Libertarianism and anticommunism are the two broad branches of organized conservatism that were considered in the decade after World War II. Democratically based movements, or movement cultures, often pass through four stages. The conservative movement attained each stage of the sequence, and its participants gained confidence in their ability to alter the American landscape. This book argues that in the 1950s conservatives initially created two distinct but overlapping movement cultures. The history of the transformation of American conservatism is shown.

Keywords: American conservatism; extremism; Edwin A. Walker; American liberalism; libertarianism; anticommunism; conservatives

Chapter.  4980 words. 

Subjects: History of the Americas

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or purchase to access all content.