Organ Works, 1820–1835

Wm. A. Little

in Mendelssohn and the Organ

Published in print July 2010 | ISBN: 9780195394382
Published online September 2010 | e-ISBN: 9780199863556 | DOI:
Organ Works, 1820–1835

More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Musicology and Music History


Show Summary Details


This chapter reviews Mendelssohn's organ works from 1820-35. Within a span of less than six weeks — from 28 November 1820, through 6 January 1821 — Mendelssohn composed his first works for the organ. A cluster of five pieces — a Praeludium, three fugues, and a fragmentary toccata — all attest to his early fascination and involvement with classic organ forms. The first of Mendelssohn's organ works written in 1823 — the untitled Andante in D Major — represents a sharp break with the classical forms and style that had earlier dominated his thinking. More importantly, however, it represents his first tentative — and remarkably successful — venture into the realm of musical romanticism.

Keywords: Mendelssohn; organists; organ music; compositions

Chapter.  10443 words. 

Subjects: Musicology and Music History

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.