The Four Ages (<i>Yuga</i>s) and Human Rights

Arvind Sharma

in Hinduism and Human Rights

Published in print January 2004 | ISBN: 9780195665857
Published online October 2012 | e-ISBN: 9780199082025 | DOI:
The Four Ages (Yugas) and Human Rights

More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Human Rights and Immigration


Show Summary Details


Another well-known doctrine within Hinduism is that of the four ages (caturyuga). The four yugas are called Kṛta, Tretā, Dvāpara, and Kali. This chapter shows that the doctrine of the four yugas, as applied to the case of Śambāka, implies that Hinduism will become progressively egalitarian, and will be most so in the Kali Yuga. Not only will all the varṇas be entitled to performing tapas, including the śūdras, according to the Matsya Purāṇa there will be only one varṇa in the Kali Yuga, the śūdra. This could well be a highly convoluted Hindu way of saying that universal human rights will prevail.

Keywords: Hinduism; caturyuga; Kali Yuga; varṇas; tapas; śūdra; universal human rights

Chapter.  4663 words. 

Subjects: Human Rights and Immigration

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.