Resignation of Disqualified Ministers<sup>1</sup>

A.G. Noorani


Published in print January 2006 | ISBN: 9780195678291
Published online October 2012 | e-ISBN: 9780199080588 | DOI:
Resignation of Disqualified Ministers1

More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Constitutional and Administrative Law


Show Summary Details


This chapter focuses on the conflict between Prime Minister Chandra Shekhar and Lok Sabha Speaker Rabi Ray because of the latter's decision to disqualify eight Janata Dal members of Lok Sabha under the anti-defection law. Ray ruled that these Lok Sabha members, who are also ministers, should be treated as strangers in the house. But Chandra Shekhar rejected the ministers' resignation and argued that they can remain in office for another six months. The chapter discusses B. R. Ambedkar's 1948 exposition of the relevant Article 75 of the Constitution which shows that Shekhar is wrong because the exemption clause applies only to ministers who initially lack the qualification of membership of parliament and not to those who were disqualified under the election law.

Keywords: Chandra Shekhar; Rabi Ray; Janata Dal; Lok Sabha; anti-defection law; ministers; B. R. Ambedkar; Article 75; Constitution; election law

Chapter.  1448 words. 

Subjects: Constitutional and Administrative Law

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.