Leader of the Opposition

B. R. Nanda

in The Nehrus

Published in print December 2007 | ISBN: 9780195693430
Published online October 2012 | e-ISBN: 9780199081387 | DOI:
Leader of the Opposition

Show Summary Details


This chapter introduces the Swaraj Party, which defeated the British Indian Government with the help of the Legislative Assembly. The discussion starts with the Legislative Assembly, which reflected the transitional stage in the unsettled conflict between Indian nationalism and British imperialism. It identifies several colourful personalities in the Legislative Assembly, including M.A. Jinnah and the Assembly president, Sir Frederick Whyte. It considers the resolutions and catalogues presented by Diwan Bahadur Rangachariar, Sir Malcolm Hailey, and Motilal Nehru. From here the discussion shifts to the Swaraj Party, which emerged in India the same time the Labour Government was introduced in Britain. It also looks at the letters Motilal wrote to and received from S.R. Bomanji, a Bombay politician who was able to communicate with some British ministers, such as Ramsay MacDonald.

Keywords: Swaraj Party; Legislative Assembly; Indian nationalism; British imperialism; M.A. Jinnah; Sir Frederick Whyte; Labour Government; S.R. Bomanji; Ramsay MacDonald

Chapter.  3666 words. 

Subjects: Indian Politics

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.