The Kania Court (1950–1)

George H. Gadbois, Jr

in Judges of the Supreme Court of India

Published in print May 2011 | ISBN: 9780198070610
Published online September 2012 | e-ISBN: 9780199080755 | DOI:
The Kania Court (1950–1)

Show Summary Details


This chapter describes the formation of the Kania Court of 1950–1. What would become the Kania Court began to take shape on 20 June 1946, the date of both Sir Srinivasa Varadachariah’s retirement and Sir Harilal Jekisondas Kania becoming a Federal Court judge. Kania became the first Indian CJI on 14 August 1947. The transition from the Federal Court to the SCI was seamless. Kania became the first CJI under the 1950 Constitution and the five other Federal Court judges became SCI judges on 26 January. The other judges that formed the court are Saiyed Fazl Ali, Mundakulathur Patanjali Sastri, Mehr Chand Mahajan, Bijan Kumar Mukherjea, Sudhi Ranjan Das, Nagapudi Chandrasekhara Aiyar, and Vivian Bose. Although Kania’s death in November 1951 cut short his tenure, he left a significant legacy. Four of them would follow him as CJIs and serve throughout the first decade.

Keywords: Srinivasa Varadachariah; Harilal Jekisondas Kania; Federal Court judge; CJI; Vivian Bose; Saiyed Fazl Ali; Mundakulathur Patanjali Sastri; Mehr Chand Mahajan; Bijan Kumar Mukherjea; Sudhi Ranjan Das

Chapter.  10667 words. 

Subjects: History of Law

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.