The Sastri Court (1951–4)

George H. Gadbois, Jr

in Judges of the Supreme Court of India

Published in print May 2011 | ISBN: 9780198070610
Published online September 2012 | e-ISBN: 9780199080755 | DOI:
The Sastri Court (1951–4)

Show Summary Details


This chapter describes the formation of the Sastri Court of 1951–4. Following the death of Kania, for the first time in post-Independence India, a new CJI had to be chosen. Sastri, who was the most senior associate judge, was appointed by the president a day after Kania’s death to perform the duties of Chief Justice of India. The Supreme Court of India that Sastri inherited comprised six judges, himself included, plus Fazl Ali, who had reached retirement age a few weeks earlier but who agreed to extended duty under the terms of Article 128 of the Constitution. Other members of Sastri’s court are Ghulam Hasan, Natvarlal Harilal Bhagwati, Bachu Jagannadhadas, and Tirunelveli Lakshmanasuri Venkatarama Ayyar. Sastri’s quartet was an all-India group, representing the four major regions of the nation. When Sastri’s tenure as CJI ended with his retirement on 3 January 1954, he bequeathed to his successor, M.C. Mahajan.

Keywords: post-independence India; Fazl Ali; Ghulam Hasan; Natvarlal Harilal Bhagwati; Bachu Jagannadhadas; Tirunelveli Lakshmanasuri Venkatarama Ayyar; M.C. Mahajan; Harilal Jekisondas Kania; Mundakulathur Patanjali Sastri

Chapter.  4594 words. 

Subjects: History of Law

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.