The Das Court (1956–9)

George H. Gadbois, Jr

in Judges of the Supreme Court of India

Published in print May 2011 | ISBN: 9780198070610
Published online September 2012 | e-ISBN: 9780199080755 | DOI:
The Das Court (1956–9)

Show Summary Details


This chapter describes the Das Court of 1956–9. S.R. Das, the last of the six men who comprised the SCI at its beginning in 1950, served as CJI for forty-four months. The Das years were marked by many changes in personnel. He inherited a Court composed of seven permanent judges, including himself, plus the recalled Chandrasekhar Aiyar. He became CJI on 1 February 1956; shortly thereafter and at his initiative, the strength of the Court was increased from eight to eleven judges. The members of his court include Sudhanshu Kumar Das, Parakulangara Govinda Menon, Jeevan Lal Kapur, Pralhad Balacharya Gajendragadkar, Amal Kumar Sarkar, Koka Subba Rao, Kailash Nath Wanchoo, Mohammed Hidayatullah, Kulada Charan Das Gupta, and Jayantilal Chhotalal Shah. The Das Court was marked by uncommon collegiality and congeniality among the brethren. Das had earned the respect and esteem of his colleagues.

Keywords: S.R. Das; Sudhanshu Kumar Das; Parakulangara Govinda Menon; Jeevan Lal Kapur; Pralhad Balacharya Gajendragadkar; Amal Kumar Sarkar; Koka Subba Rao; Kailash Nath Wanchoo; Mohammed Hidayatullah; Kulada Charan Das Gupta

Chapter.  16497 words. 

Subjects: History of Law

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.