The Gajendragadkar Court (1964–6)

George H. Gadbois, Jr

in Judges of the Supreme Court of India

Published in print May 2011 | ISBN: 9780198070610
Published online September 2012 | e-ISBN: 9780199080755 | DOI:
The Gajendragadkar Court (1964–6)

Show Summary Details


This chapter describes the Gajendragadkar Court of 1964–6. P.B. Gajendragadkar learned on 21 October 1963 that he would succeed Sinha and become CJI on 1 February 1964. Gajendragadkar had nine colleagues when he became CJI. There were three retirements and five new appointments during his regime. The new appointments include Sarv Mittra Sikri, Ranadhir Singh Bachawat, Vaidyanathier Ramaswami, Penmetsa Satyanarayana Raju, and Jayendra Manilal Shelat. Sikri was a significant appointment, for he was not only the first to come directly from the bar but was the youngest of the Gajendragadkar’s group and would later have a relatively long tenure as CJI. When Gajendragadkar’s tenure ended on 16 March 1966, he left the court at the de facto full strength of eleven — his successor Sarkar and ten associate judges.

Keywords: P.B. Sinha; P.B. Gajendragadkar; Sarv Mittra Sikri; Ranadhir Singh Bachawat; Vaidyanathier Ramaswami; Penmetsa Satyanarayana Raju; Jayendra Manilal Shelat

Chapter.  5773 words. 

Subjects: History of Law

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.