The Sarkar Court (1966)

George H. Gadbois, Jr

in Judges of the Supreme Court of India

Published in print May 2011 | ISBN: 9780198070610
Published online September 2012 | e-ISBN: 9780199080755 | DOI:
The Sarkar Court (1966)

Show Summary Details


This chapter describes the Sarkar Court of 1966. Nine years after he arrived on the SCI, A.K. Sarkar became CJI on 16 March 1966. His was the briefest stewardship to date, just three and a half months, for he reached retirement age on 29 June. His two choices for fresh appointments include Vashishtha Bhargava and Gopendra Krishna Mitter. Although neither was sworn in until after Sarkar had retired and the summer vacation had ended, because Sarkar initiated both appointments they are credited to him. Bhargava, sixty, the last of the ICS judges, and the chief justice of the Allahabad High Court, was sworn in on 8 August. Mitter, a few days short of sixty, was sworn in on 29 August. Counting Bhargava and Mitter, Sarkar passed on to Subba Rao a court operating at the de facto full strength of eleven.

Keywords: Vashishtha Bhargava; Gopendra Krishna Mitter; A.K. Sarkar; Subba Rao

Chapter.  1860 words. 

Subjects: History of Law

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.