The Subba Rao Court (1966–7)

George H. Gadbois, Jr

in Judges of the Supreme Court of India

Published in print May 2011 | ISBN: 9780198070610
Published online September 2012 | e-ISBN: 9780199080755 | DOI:
The Subba Rao Court (1966–7)

Show Summary Details


This chapter describes the Subba Rao Court of 1966–7. Because the SCI was in summer recess when he succeeded Sarkar on 30 June 1966, K. Subba Rao’s tenure as CJI began virtually unnoticed. Only the appointment of Chittur Anantakrishna Vaidialingam, fifty-nine and third in seniority on the Kerala High Court, can be credited to Subba Rao. Sworn in on 10 October 1966, he was the first to come to the SCI from the Kerala High Court. Subba Rao and Vaidialingam had been friends and associates, dating back to their days together in Madras. Subba Rao left the Court by his surprise resignation to become the United Opposition’s candidate for president of India. When he jumped into the political arena on 11 April 1967, he became a national figure overnight. He bequeathed to K.N. Wanchoo a court one short of its de facto strength of eleven.

Keywords: Subba Rao; United Opposition; Chittur Anantakrishna Vaidialingam; K.N. Wanchoo

Chapter.  2015 words. 

Subjects: History of Law

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.