The Sikri Court (1971–3)

George H. Gadbois, Jr

in Judges of the Supreme Court of India

Published in print May 2011 | ISBN: 9780198070610
Published online September 2012 | e-ISBN: 9780199080755 | DOI:
The Sikri Court (1971–3)

More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • History of Law


Show Summary Details


This chapter describes the Sikri Court of 1971–3. When S.M. Sikri became CJI on 22 January 1971, a great deal of tension between the SCI and the government had accumulated during the previous four years. Less than a month earlier, Prime Minister Indira Gandhi announced that Parliament would be dissolved and mid-term elections held in March. Earlier in December, the SCI had handed her a major defeat with its Privy Purses decision, a ruling many believe provoked her to call the fresh elections. There were nine new appointments, in a period of just fifteen months, from July 1971 to October 1972. They include Subimal Chandra Roy, Devidas Ganpat Palekar, Hans Raj Khanna, Kuttyil Kurien Mathew, Mirza Hameedullah Beg, Surendra Narayan Dwivedi, Arun Kumar Mukherjea, Yeshwant Vishnu Chandrachud, and Alwar Naicker Alagiriswami. Conveniently for the government, it provided an opportunity to shift the ideological composition of the SCI.

Keywords: Indira Gandhi; Privy Purses; S.M. Sikri; Subimal Chandra Roy; Devidas Ganpat Palekar; Hans Raj Khanna; Kuttyil Kurien Mathew; Mirza Hameedullah Beg; Surendra Narayan Dwivedi; Arun Kumar Mukherjea

Chapter.  16697 words. 

Subjects: History of Law

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.