The Ray Court (1973–7)

George H. Gadbois, Jr

in Judges of the Supreme Court of India

Published in print May 2011 | ISBN: 9780198070610
Published online September 2012 | e-ISBN: 9780199080755 | DOI:
The Ray Court (1973–7)

Show Summary Details


This chapter describes the Ray Court of 1973–77. The announcement that A.N. Ray would be the next CJI came late in the afternoon of 25 April 1973, Sikri’s last day as CJI. Fourth in seniority, Ray was vaulted over the heads of J.M. Shelat, K.S. Hegde, and A.N. Grover, all of whom immediately submitted their resignations. This supersession provoked an immediate and nationwide expression of outrage. There was there was sufficient evidence for Mohan Kumaramangalam, the most suspected architect for the decision, to believe that Ray was likely to be supportive of Indira Gandhi’s social and economic reform policies. Ten new judges were sworn in during Ray’s tenure. They were Prafullachandra Natvarlal Bhagwati, Vaidyanathapuram Rama Ayyar Krishna Iyer, Parbati Kumar Goswami, Ranjit Singh Sarkaria, Alak Chandra Gupta, Nand Lall Untwalia, Syed Murtaza Fazal Ali, Prakash Narayan Shinghal, Jaswant Singh, and Palapatti Sadaya Goundar Kailasam.

Keywords: Indira Gandhi; A.N. Ray; Mohan Kumaramangalam; Prafullachandra Natvarlal Bhagwati; Vaidyanathapuram Rama Ayyar Krishna Iyer; Parbati Kumar Goswami; Ranjit Singh Sarkaria; J.M. Shelat

Chapter.  21556 words. 

Subjects: History of Law

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.