The Chandrachud Court (1978–85)

George H. Gadbois, Jr

in Judges of the Supreme Court of India

Published in print May 2011 | ISBN: 9780198070610
Published online September 2012 | e-ISBN: 9780199080755 | DOI:
The Chandrachud Court (1978–85)

Show Summary Details


This chapter describes the Chandrachud Court of 1978–85. The Janata regime was pledged to restore the independence of the judiciary but had not committed itself to restoring the convention of promoting the seniormost associate judge to the chief justiceship. Chandrachud was CJI for seven and a half years, by far the longest tenure before or since, and spanned years of momentous change in the nation. Some were passive concerning Chandrachud’s nominations, while others were active in the sense that they found some of his nominees unacceptable and pressed Chandrachud to accept their own choices. His appointments include Anand Dev Koshal, Onteddu Chinnappa Reddy, Ananda Prakash Sen, Engalaguppe Seetharamiah Venkataramiah, Baharul Islam, Appajee Varadarajan, Amarendra Nath Sen, Vettath Balakrishna Eradi, Ram Briksha Misra, Dinshah Pirosha Madon, Sabyasachi Mukharji, Manharlal Pranlal Thakkar, Ranga Nath Misra, and Vazhakkulangarayil Khalid.

Keywords: judiciary independence; Janata; Yeshwant Vishnu Chandrachud; Anand Dev Koshal; Onteddu Chinnappa Reddy; Ananda Prakash Sen; Engalaguppe Seetharamiah Venkataramiah; Baharul Islam; Appajee Varadarajan

Chapter.  17125 words. 

Subjects: History of Law

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.