The Seven Cities of Delhi and the Patterns of Policing

O.P. Mishra

in Policing Delhi

Published in print April 2012 | ISBN: 9780198075950
Published online September 2012 | e-ISBN: 9780199080892 | DOI:
The Seven Cities of Delhi and the Patterns of Policing

Show Summary Details


This chapter provides a detailed description of the seven cities of Delhi and the different patterns of policing throughout the history of Delhi. It begins with a brief study of the historical background of Delhi, and is immediately followed by the sections on the seven cities. The chapter concludes with an account of the arrival of the British in India, and initiates discussion on the policing patterns. The seven cities of Delhi as discussed in this chapter are: Indraprastha, Siri Fort, Tughlaqabad, Jahanpanah, Firozabad, Dinpanah, and Shahjahanabad. The policing patterns of the ancient period, medieval period, and the nineteenth to mid-twentieth centuries are then examined. The Police Act of 1861 is introduced in the latter portion of the chapter.

Keywords: seven cities of Delhi; Delhi; policing patterns; arrival of British; Police Act of 1861

Chapter.  7818 words. 

Subjects: Urban and Rural Studies

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.