The Later Mauryas

Romila Thapar

in Aśoka and the Decline of the Mauryas

Third edition

Published in print June 2012 | ISBN: 9780198077244
Published online September 2012 | e-ISBN: 9780199081073 | DOI:

Series: Oxford India Perennials Series

The Later Mauryas

Show Summary Details


This chapter focuses on the Mauryan rulers that followed Aśoka Maurya. It explains that the years after the death of Aśoka saw the end of the Mauryan dynasty as a political force in India. While the Mauryan rulers continued to rule for another half-century, the dynasty collapsed completely in the early part of the second century BC. and gave way to the Śungas. After the death of Aśoka around 233–232 BC., the empire was divided into the western and eastern halves. This chapter provides a list of Mauryan rulers that followed Aśoka, including Kunāla, Devavarma, and Brhadratha.

Keywords: Mauryan rulers; Mauryan dynasty; political force; India; Śungas; Kunāla; Devavarma; Brhadratha

Chapter.  6692 words. 

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.