J. K. Elliott

in The Apocryphal New Testament

Published in print November 2005 | ISBN: 9780198261827
Published online April 2009 |

More Like This

Show all results sharing these subjects:

  • Religious Studies
  • Biblical Studies


Show Summary Details


The first section of Part II deal with the five major apocryphal Acts: The Acts of Andrew The Acts of John The Acts of Paul The Acts of Peter The Acts of Thomastogether with associated Acts linked with each of them. Minor Acts not connected with these texts are then discussed in a final section. The five are the most influential and among the oldest of the apocryphal Acts, although they were not composed as a collection. It was originally held that all five were written by the same author. The name Leucius, the companion of John the Apostle, was given originally to the author of the Acts of John and then to the author of all five major acts. From the time of Photius he was named as Leucius Charinus. The names Leucius and Charinus (Karinus) appear in the Latin versions of the Descensus, and it may perhaps be assumed that there is some connection between these and the names given by Photius.

Chapter.  408 words. 

Subjects: Religious Studies ; Biblical Studies

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.