Nicholas Lossky

in Lancelot Andrewes, the Preacher (1555-1626)

Published in print April 1991 | ISBN: 9780198261858
Published online September 2011 | e-ISBN: 9780191682223 | DOI:

Show Summary Details


This chapter discusses the Lent sermons of Andrewes. Andrewes's Lent sermons were divided into two distinct series, eight of them were preached on Ash Wednesday (Sermons of Repentance and Fasting Preached on Ash-Wednesday), while the other six (Sermons Preached in Lent) were all preached on other occasions during the Lenten season. These fourteen sermons cover a wider period when compared to the Christmas sermons with the first sermon preached on 1589/90 and the last on 1623/4. From the whole group of the Lent sermons, all of the Lenten sermons including three or four of the Ash Wednesday sermons were preached before Queen Elizabeth while the five others belong to the last period of James I's reign. This chapter therefore examines the points that are common and the differences between these periods in Andrewes's preaching, one beginning at his age of thirty-five and the other ending two years before his death.

Keywords: sermons; Lent; Lent sermons; Ash Wednesday; Ash Wednesday sermons

Chapter.  23569 words. 

Subjects: Christianity

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.