Zoroastrians in British Politics

John R. Hinnells

in Zoroastrians in Britain

Published in print February 1996 | ISBN: 9780198261933
Published online October 2011 | e-ISBN: 9780191682247 | DOI:
Zoroastrians in British Politics

Show Summary Details


This chapter examines Zoroastrians in British politics. Unlike other South Asian groups in Britain, Zoroastrians have never constituted a significant electoral group because of their small number. However, they have held political office. In national terms, the major figures have been three Parsis who were the first Asians to become MPs at Westminster: Dahabhoy Naoroji, Muncherji Bhownagree, and Shapuri Saklatvala. These people are discussed in the first three sections. The fourth section considers Zerbanoo Gifford, still active, but she has not yet become an MP. She merits consideration because of the work she has already achieved. Although all four of these politicians have taken a public stand on behalf of the people of India, they have also affirmed their community or religious allegiance. The work of each of the politicians in Britain has been neglected by earlier studies of Zoroastrian history and of Indian politics.

Keywords: Dahabhoy Naoroji; Muncherji Bhownagree; Shapuri Saklatvala; Gifford; Westminster MPs; British politics

Chapter.  29233 words. 

Subjects: East Asian Religions

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.