The Stages of Existence


in Kierkegaard as Negative Theologian

Published in print April 1993 | ISBN: 9780198263364
Published online October 2011 | e-ISBN: 9780191682506 | DOI:

Series: Oxford Theological Monographs

The Stages of Existence

Show Summary Details


This chapter examines the three stages in Søren Kierkegaard's spheres of existence. These are the aesthetic, ethical, and religiousness stages. The aesthetic individual is concerned only with the physical, the finite, and the temporal, while the ethical individual is one who has chosen to discard his aesthetic or finite self. The religious individual is one who has realized that the ethical sphere is inadequate. This chapter suggests that this theory and his other theses reveal that there is an apophatic undercurrent running through Kierkegaard's thought.

Keywords: Søren Kierkegaard; existence; aesthetic individual; ethical individual; religious individual; apophaticism

Chapter.  15085 words. 

Subjects: Christian Theology

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.