Theories of Parliamentary Sovereignty After 1931: New and Revised


in The Constitution of Independence

Published in print April 2005 | ISBN: 9780198268956
Published online January 2010 | e-ISBN: 9780191713200 | DOI:
Theories of Parliamentary Sovereignty After 1931: New and Revised

More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Constitutional and Administrative Law


Show Summary Details


This chapter discusses the writings of constitutional theorists who challenged the Diceyan orthodoxy. Spearheaded by Ivor Jennings, this view was never so well expressed as by his younger University of London colleague, Richard Latham, son of the Chief Justice of Australia. This book attributes much of the hard intellectual work on the ‘new’ and ‘revised’ view of parliamentary sovereignty to Latham (whose promising academic and professional career was tragically cut short in 1943). HWR Wade, KC Wheare and Geoffrey Marshall are also featured.

Keywords: Jennings; Latham; Wade; Marshall; Wheare

Chapter.  16752 words. 

Subjects: Constitutional and Administrative Law

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.