The Canonical Sextet

Anthony King

in The British Constitution

Published in print September 2009 | ISBN: 9780199576982
Published online October 2011 | e-ISBN: 9780191702235 | DOI:
The Canonical Sextet

Show Summary Details


This chapter provides information on several classical writers who dealt with the meaning of the constitution of Britain including Walter Bagehot, A. V. Dicey, Sidney Low, L. S. Amery, Harold Laski, and Ivor Jennings. Bagehot was one of the great journalists of the 19th century who believed that the English were still persuaded of the idea that the political institutions were constituted along mainly strictly Montesquieu-esque lines, yet lay precisely in the reality that the executive and legislative branches were bound with each other. Dicey believed that sovereignty in the UK resided in one place and in one place only called parliament. Low reckoned that the cabinet system had latterly undergone a substantial transformation, while Amery took issue with the idea that the operating styles of the prime ministers were conformed to a single, uniform pattern. Lastly, Laski clearly believed that, despite undoubted loyalty of the officials to the Attlee administration, little had really changed in recent decades, while Jennings took issue with the notion that, just because parliament had these very wide, indeed unlimited, legal powers, it was therefore ‘sovereign’.

Keywords: canonical sextet; classical writers; British constitution; Walter Bagehot; A. V. Dicey; Sidney Low; L. S. Amery; Harold Laski; Ivor Jennings; sovereignty

Chapter.  11086 words. 

Subjects: UK Politics

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.