The Christian Quarter of Jerusalem

Jerome Murphy‐O'Connor

in Keys to Jerusalem

Published in print February 2012 | ISBN: 9780199642021
Published online May 2012 | e-ISBN: 9780191738555 | DOI:
The Christian Quarter of Jerusalem

Show Summary Details


Today the walled city of Jerusalem is divided into four quarters, Christian (north-west), Muslim (north-east), Armenian (south-west), and Jewish (south-east). The Christian Quarter is the oldest, and its institution probably inspired the others. William of Tyre is the only ancient author to tell its story. This chapter uses his text as the framework for the history and archaeology of the area. The only systematic account is that of Felix–Marie Abel in the monumental history of Jerusalem that he wrote with Louis–Hugues Vincent. That report, however, was published in 1926, and much has happened in the meantime, not least a new critical edition of William of Tyre.

Keywords: Jerusalem; Christian Quarter; William of Tyre

Chapter.  18339 words.  Illustrated.

Subjects: Biblical Studies

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.