From <i>Valley Town</i> (1940) to <i>Labor for Victory</i> (1942)

Howard Pollack

in Marc Blitzstein

Published in print October 2012 | ISBN: 9780199791590
Published online January 2013 | e-ISBN: 9780199949625 | DOI:
                   From Valley Town (1940) to Labor for Victory (1942)

More Like This

Show all results sharing these subjects:

  • American Music
  • Popular Music


Show Summary Details


This chapter studies three documentaries for which Blitzstein provided the music: Willard Van Dyke’s Valley Town, about the uses and misuses of technology; Leo Hurwitz and Paul Strand’s Native Land, about the struggle between progressive and reactionary forces in American history (and featuring a narration delivered by Paul Robeson); and Garson Kanin’s unfinished Night Shift, about the need for round-the-clock factory work to meet wartime needs. The chapter concludes with some commentary about Blitzstein’s involvement with two radio programs: Russia is Singing, about Soviet music; and Labor for Victory, about the working man and the war.

Keywords: Willard Van Dyke; Valley Town; Leo Hurwitz; Paul Strand; Native Land; Paul Robeson; Garson Kanin; Night Shift; Soviet music

Chapter.  8991 words. 

Subjects: American Music ; Popular Music

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.