From <i>Freedom Morning</i> (1943) to the <i>Airborne Symphony</i> (1946)

Howard Pollack

in Marc Blitzstein

Published in print October 2012 | ISBN: 9780199791590
Published online January 2013 | e-ISBN: 9780199949625 | DOI:
                   From Freedom Morning (1943) to the Airborne Symphony (1946)

More Like This

Show all results sharing these subjects:

  • American Music
  • Popular Music


Show Summary Details


This chapter examines Blitzstein’s compositions from these same years, most notably Freedom Morning, composed as a tribute to America’s black troops; and the Airborne Symphony, the largest orchestral work of the composer’s career and one triumphantly premiered by Leonard Bernstein (Orson Welles, narrating) in New York in 1946.

Keywords: Freedom Morning; Airborne Symphony; Leonard Bernstein; Orson Welles

Chapter.  8701 words. 

Subjects: American Music ; Popular Music

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.