Reference Entry

Eastwood, Thomas Hugh (1922 - 1999), composer

Richard Cooke

in Grove Music Online

Volume Grove Music Online, issue Published in print January 2001 |
Published online January 2001 | e-ISBN: 9781561592630

Show Summary Details


(b Hawley, Hants., 12 March 1922; d 25 Oct 1999). English composer. While a member of the British Council in Ankara, he took private composition lessons with Necil Kâzimakses; later he studied with Blacher in Berlin and Stein in London, both decisive influences. The first of his works to come to public attention was the String Trio, awarded first prize in the 1949 Cheltenham Open Competitive Music Festival. Thereafter he

Reference Entry.  485 words. 

Subjects: Music

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.