Reference Entry

Hughes, Arwel (1909 - 1988), composer, conductor, administrator

Malcolm Boyd and Meuryn Hughes

in Grove Music Online

Volume Grove Music Online, issue Published in print January 2001 |
Published online January 2001 | e-ISBN: 9781561592630

Show Summary Details


(b Rhosllanerchrugog, 25 Aug 1909; d Cardiff, 23 Sept 1988). Welsh composer, conductor and administrator. He was educated at Ruabon Grammar School and at the Royal College of Music, where he studied with Kitson and Vaughan Williams. Following his studies at the RCM he became the organist at the church of St Philip and St James, Oxford, and in 1935 returned to Wales to join the staff of

Reference Entry.  469 words. 

Subjects: Music

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.