Reference Entry

Calvet Quartet

Tully Potter

in Grove Music Online

Volume Grove Music Online, issue Published in print January 2001 |
Published online January 2001 | e-ISBN: 9781561592630

Show Summary Details


French string quartet. It was founded in Paris in 1919 by Joseph Calvet (b Toulouse, 8 Oct 1897; d Paris, 4 May 1984), Georges Mignot, Léon Pascal and Paul Mas. Mignot and Pascal had previously played in Marcel Chailley's quartet. In 1928 the ensemble gave its first Beethoven cycle at the instigation of Nadia Boulanger. In 1929 Daniel Guilevitch replaced Mignot and during the 1930s the Calvet Quartet was considered to be among

Reference Entry.  207 words. 

Subjects: Music

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.