Reference Entry

Sex Pistols

Dave Laing

in Grove Music Online

Volume Grove Music Online, issue Published in print January 2001 |
Published online January 2001 | e-ISBN: 9781561592630

Show Summary Details


English punk rock group. Its members were Steve Jones (b London, 3 May 1955; guitar), Johnny Rotten (John Lydon; b London, 31 Jan 1956; vocals), Paul Cook (b London, 27 July 1956; drums) and Glen Matlock (b London, 27 Aug 1956; bass), who was later replaced by Sid Vicious (John Simon Ritchie; b London, 10 May 1957; d New York, 2 Feb 1979; bass). Initially named the Swankers, the group was

Reference Entry.  493 words. 

Subjects: Music

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.