Reference Entry

Kneisel Quartet

Steven Ledbetter

in Grove Music Online

Volume Grove Music Online, issue Published in print January 2001 |
Published online January 2001 | e-ISBN: 9781561592630

Show Summary Details


American string quartet. It was formed in 1885 by Franz Kneisel, concertmaster of the Boston SO, at the instigation of the orchestra's founder, Henry Lee Higginson. The other members were Emanuel Fiedler (second violin; later replaced by Otto Roth (1887–99), Karl Ondříček (1899–1902), Julius Theodorowicz (1902–7), Julius Roentgen (1907–12) and Hans Letz (1912–17)); Louis Svečenski (viola, who, like Kneisel, remained a member throughout the quartet's existence); and Fritz Giese (cello; later replaced by Anton Hekking

Reference Entry.  397 words. 

Subjects: Music

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.