1 and 2 Kings

Gary N. Knoppers and Jonathan S. Greer

in Biblical Studies

ISBN: 9780195393361
Published online September 2010 | | DOI:
1 and 2 Kings

Show Summary Details


The biblical books of 1 and 2 Kings provide a theological history of the monarchy from the 10th to the early 6th century bce. There are three major periods depicted: the united monarchy, covering the time from just before the death of David until the division of the kingdom following Solomon’s death (c. 960–931 bce); the divided monarchy of Israel (in the north) and Judah (in the south), covering the time from the division up to the Assyrian exile of the northern kingdom (c. 931–720 bce); and the remaining kingdom of Judah, covering the time of the Assyrian exile up to the Babylonian exile of the Judahite kingdom (586 bce). The books were originally a single work (“Kings”) but were divided into 3–4 Kingdoms in the Septuagint (with 1–2 Samuel as 1–2 Kingdoms). Eventually, this division was also introduced into the Hebrew text during the medieval period. In the Jewish canon, the books are included among the Former Prophets (Joshua, Judges, Samuel, and Kings) and in the Christian canons they form part of the Historical Books (basically, Joshua, Judges, Ruth, Samuel, 1–2 Kings, 1–2 Chronicles, Ezra, and Nehemiah, with Judith, Tobit, and 1–2 Maccabees in the Roman Catholic and Orthodox canons). Modern study of Kings is facilitated by the use of a number of helpful overviews, textual analyses, commentaries, ancient Near Eastern comparative studies, and specialized treatments.

Article.  12674 words. 

Subjects: Biblical Studies

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.