Deborah W. Rooke

in The Oxford Handbook of Biblical Studies

Published in print April 2006 | ISBN: 9780199254255
Published online April 2009 |

Series: Oxford Handbooks in Religion and Theology


More Like This

Show all results sharing these subjects:

  • Religious Studies
  • Biblical Studies


Show Summary Details


According to Jewish tradition, the canon of the Hebrew Bible which forms the basis of the Christian Old Testament is divided into three parts: Law, Prophets, and Writings. The division known as Prophets consists of the historical books Joshua, Judges, 1 and 2 Samuel, and 1 and 2 Kings as well as the books more commonly recognized as prophetic by Christianity: that is, Isaiah, Jeremiah, and Ezekiel and the so-called Book of the Twelve, from Hosea to Malachi. These fifteen works from Isaiah to Malachi are also known collectively as the Latter Prophets. This chapter focuses on the Latter Prophets. It presents an overview of scholarly issues that pertain to the prophetic books in general, and then highlights issues that are particularly associated with individual books.

Keywords: Old Testament; Hebrew Bible; Latter Prophets; Isaiah; Jeremiah; Ezekiel

Chapter.  5245 words. 

Subjects: Religious Studies ; Biblical Studies

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or purchase to access all content.