Related Overviews


'acalā-bhūmi' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Buddhism


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(Skt.). The eighth of the Bodhisattva Levels (bhūmi), ‘the Unshakeable One’, according to the Daśabhūmika Sūtra. Here the Bodhisattva engages in the Perfection of Aspiration (praṇidhāna) through which he aspires to attain what remains to be accomplished. This stage (or sometimes the preceding one) is characterized as ‘avaivartika’ (Skt., no turning back) since once a Bodhisattva reaches this stage he cannot backslide in his progress and his attainment of perfect enlightenment (saṃbodhi) is guaranteed. See also pāramitā.

Subjects: Buddhism.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.