accession countries

Quick Reference

Countries applying to join the European Union (EU). The countries that are currently linked with future membership are Croatia, Bosnia, the Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Montenegro, Serbia, and Albania. Accession country is also used to refer to a country that has recently joined the EU, including Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia, and Slovenia.

Subjects: Economics.

Reference entries