Albany Congress

Related Overviews

American Revolution


Benjamin Franklin (1706—1790) natural philosopher, writer, and revolutionary politician in America

Aretha Franklin (b. 1942) American soul and gospel singer

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


More Like This

Show all results sharing these subjects:

  • World History
  • United States History


Quick Reference


A congress of seven colonies convened by the British Board of Trade at Albany, a town in New York State, to concert defence against the French and pacify the Iroquois. It was at Albany that Benjamin Franklin presented his “Plan of Union” for a Grand Council elected by the 13 colonies to control defence and Indian relations, but this first step towards American unity was rejected by the individual colonies.

Subjects: World History — United States History.

Reference entries