Alliance of Small Island States

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


A coalition of small, low‐lying island countries formed during the Second World Climate Conference in 1990 that includes 35 states from the Atlantic, Caribbean, Indian Ocean, Mediterranean, and Pacific, most of which are members of the Group of 77, and all of which are particularly vulnerable to sea level rise. These countries share the threat that global warming and climate change pose to their survival, and have called on developed countries to rapidly reduce their emissions of greenhouse gases.

Subjects: Environmental Science.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.