Hebrew Alphabet

Related Overviews


'Hebrew Alphabet' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Judaism and Jewish Studies


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The Hebrew alphabet has twenty-two letters, five of which have a slightly different form when they occur at the end of a word to close the word. The letters are shown in the table:

These letters are all consonants, to which the vowels have to be added in order to form words. In the Sefer Torah, for instance, only the consonants are written, the reader supplying the vowels. The vowels and the signs by which they are recorded are:patah (–) = a as in hat.segol (∵) = e as in let.hirek (.) = i as in lit.kibbutz ( ֻ) = u as in bull.kametz, short (τ) = o as in top.kametz, long (τ) = a as in yard (sign the same for both short and long).tzere (..) = e as in they.shurek (․) = long u as in flute.holem (דׄ) = long o as in role.

patah (–) = a as in hat.

segol (∵) = e as in let.

hirek (.) = i as in lit.

kibbutz ( ֻ) = u as in bull.

kametz, short (τ) = o as in top.

kametz, long (τ) = a as in yard (sign the same for both short and long).

tzere (..) = e as in they.

shurek (․) = long u as in flute.

holem (דׄ) = long o as in role.

Subjects: Judaism and Jewish Studies.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.