Eric Ambler

(1909—1998) writer

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


writer of thrillers, spy fiction, and screenplays. His many works of fiction include The Dark Frontier (1936), Uncommon Danger (1937), Epitaph for a Spy (1938), Cause for Alarm (1938), The Mask of Dimitrios (1939), Journey into Fear (1940), The October Man (1948), Judgement on Deltcher (1951), The Schirmer Inheritance (1953), Passage of Arms (1959), Dr Frigo (1974), Send No More Roses (1977), and The Care of Time (1981). An edited volume, To Catch a Spy: An Anthology of Favourite Spy Stories, was published in 1964. Here Lies: An Autobiography appeared in 1985. The Story So Far (1993) contains stories previously unpublished in book form together with reminiscences.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.