Andean Community

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


An association of South American nations set up in 1969 to enhance economic cooperation. The original members were Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, and Venezuela; Chile withdrew in 1976 and Venezuela in 2006. The CAN signed a cooperation agreement with Mercosur in 2004.

Subjects: World History — Financial Institutions and Services.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.