Sherwood Anderson


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


American writer, made his name as a leading naturalistic writer with Winesburg, Ohio (1919), a collection of short stories illustrating life in a small town. Other collections include The Triumph of the Egg (1921) and Death in the Woods (1933). His novels include Poor White (1920), Dark Laughter (1925), and the semi‐autobiographical Tar: A Midwest Childhood (1926).

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Works by Sherwood Anderson

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.