Annex B Countries

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The list of industrialized countries and economies in transition that have their greenhouse gas emissions capped under the Kyoto Protocol (as listed in Annex B). The Protocol also defines legally binding obligations on each country to reduce their emissions by set amounts within a defined period of time. For example, most European countries are required to decrease their emissions by 8% (relative to 1990 levels) during the first commitment period from 2008 to 2012, whilst Iceland is allowed to increase its emissions by up to 10% over the same period (because it is at a lower stage of industrial development).

Subjects: Environmental Science.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.